Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Book review: Running by Rhiannon Douglas

Book Blurb:
She will be hunted. She will be found. The Empire will never be the same.

In a world where Power is everything, Gwendolyn leads a quiet life in a country town. That life ends the day a Rogue attack triggers the dormant Power within her.

Her guardian has been kidnapped and her home is no longer the sanctuary it once was. Accompanied by a young man who is more than what he seems, hunted by Rogues and the Empire Ruling Council, Gwen must find herself before they do.

With Power she can't control and plagued by forgotten memories she does the only thing she can.


Book 1 of The Empowered Series: Running - available now on Amazon
Book 2: Behind the Curtain (available late 2013)
Book 3: The Empowered Wars (available 2014)
Book 4: Old Enemies (available 2014)

My review:
I interviewed Rhiannon recently about Running. You can read that review here

I was privileged to receive an ARC of this novel. Running is the first in a series of at least three books called The Empowered Series. It tells the story of Gwen, a young woman who leads an ordinary life, in an ordinary town, until one day a Rogue Empowered comes looking for her. Then she has no choice but to run. Rhiannon Douglas has all the elements of a fantastic fantasy best seller here. Her characters are well developed and we want to KNOW them. She teases us with tid bits of what is to come. She makes us NEED to read more. There are no dragons or witches here, but there is magic and power. I don't want to spoil it for you, but my favorite scene is near the end in the caves. You have to read this for yourself. If you are a fan of epic fantasy novels you will LOVE Running!

About the author:
Rhiannon Douglas lives in South Australia with her partner Joseph and her cat Silver. She spends her time writing fantasy, playing with her cat and loitering in the vegetable garden while Joseph does all of the work.

You can connect with Rhiannon on her website or on Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment